Skip to main content

Lost Tokens

Recording a Token (access credential) is a quick way of fully revoking someone's access to any and all doors across the system, for that token, only. Any other tokens/credentials that the User owns will continue to work as normal.

This behaves differently to deleting/removing the token from the user one key way - The controllers maintain a record of the user and the credential so that a specific Event can be raised if is used to attempt to gain access:

Access Denied - Lost Token: Dean Kernot

So the main reasons for making use of this feature are:

  1. A very quick way of securing any locations that this lost token would have granted access to
  2. A specific Event is raised when the lost token is used to attempt to gain access, allowing very specific notifications to be configured and sent under these circumstances

What Next?

Once a user has been barred, their access to all Doors across all Sites will be revoked.

caution

Revoking access requires controllers to be online. Offline devices will be updated to revoke the token's access once they come back online.

This could result in there being a period of time after setting the token as lost where it can still be used to access some doors.

This token record will remain on the VOLO system until they are deleted by an Operator with the relevant permissions.

Although there is a benefit in retaining this record in the short term (allowing you to be alerted if a lost token is being used to inappropriately gain access), we do not recommend keeping them in the system indefinitely.